About Books #36: The Wedding That Changed Everything

About Books #36: The Wedding That Changed Everything

You guys, I was so ready not to like this book. I mean, I went back and forth, which is why I requested Jennifer Joyce’s The Wedding That Changed Everything on Netgalley. And then when I started reading, I was basically ready not to like whatever book I would have started. Yet, I couldn’t? Reading this book just made me happy. And in the midst of correcting? That was all I could ask for.

I got to read this book as an ARC off Netgalley. And let’s be real – this was totally one of those “I fell in love with the cover”-moments. Not going to lie – that’s probably the number one prerequisite I have for any romance book I’m going to buy. It has to be pretty. And bright. And if at all possible: look inviting.

Because you know – I want to want to read the book. 🙂

Story

“Love happens when you least expect it…

Emily Atkinson stopped believing in fairy tales a long time ago! She’s fed up of dating frogs in order to track down her very own Prince Charming, despite the best efforts of her matchmaking best friend…

But now she’s been invited to the wedding of the year at the enchanting Durban Castle, and perhaps bumping into a knight in shining armour isn’t as far away as she thought!

Will Emily survive the wedding and walk away an unscathed singleton – or finally find her own happily-ever-after?”

Fun fact: Goodreads recommended this book as “A cosy and charming romance, perfect for fans of Trisha Ashley and Caroline Roberts.” And as chance would have it – I have books by both of those authors! Again with the pretty covers 🙂

Characters

Look, I’m going to be honest here: the parents in this book need a 101-parenting class. Key-subjects may range from “How to NOT raise a jack-ass” to “How to NOT run away”. Other topics might come up as well.

Emily and her eventual match? Loved them. One of the biggest complaints I tend to have about any romance is that if people would just talk things would be so much easier. And they actually do that! It was brilliant!

(Another strongpoint: that means this book didn’t actually need that forced plot-advancement to be interesting!)

There were definitely some things I would have liked to have seen more of. The entire background story of Emily and her dad, for starters. The story of Alice and her sister. And of Alice and her sisters’ childhood. And Alice and her stepmom. Oh, and Alice and her boyfriend.

Basically, I need more Alice. And I’ve read too many series of combined-stand-alones, so I’m kind of hoping for it.

(Pretty please, Jennifer Joyce?)

Overall: 4.25/5

Look, this book has a gorgeous castle, a plethora of wedding-activities (how amazing was the wedding, actually 😮 ) and a library. You guys, there’s a library. Do you understand how happy that made me? So yeah, I loved this book just because of that. The well-rounded characters, fluent writing and so cute story were just added bonuses at that point.

If you want a fun read with just the right amount of escapism (again: a castle), I highly recommend this one (you can find it on Amazon (affiliate link!) – it’s out tomorrow, February 7th!). Me, myself, I’m just going to go add about every other book by Jennifer Joyce to my TBR now. Just so you know 🙂

-Saar